Back to top

Maritime Academy Trust

Our Members and Trustees


Our Members and Trustees


Members are the guardians of the trust’s constitution and they have a similar role to a shareholder of a company limited by shares.  They;

  • Are subscribers to the Memorandum of Association (founding members only)
  • Can amend the Articles of Association 
  • Appoint and remove Members
  • Appoint and remove Trustees 
  • Issue direction to Trustees
  • Appoint the trust’s external auditors
  • Change the company’s name, wind up the company

(Subject to restrictions and Special Resolutions)

Members of the Trust 


Appointed By Term of Office Business and Pecuniary Interests
Ben Hutchings


(Signatory) Member


Business Owner of Minis Childcare Ltd

Millennium Minis Ltd

Maritime Minis Ltd

Trustee - Roebucks Rugby Academy

Maria Nash Appointed by Members 10/01/2018 None
Anna Thompson  Appointed by Members 10/01/2018 None
Eben Groenewald Appointed by Members 15/12/2020

Employed by REAch2 Academy Trust

Governor at Kelvin Grove Primary School

Members who have served within the last 12 months


Appointed By

Term of Office

Business and Pecuniary Interests

Brian Vallely


(Signatory) Member

06/07/2016 - 15/12/2020

Governor at Eltham CE Primary School

Governor at Our Lady of Grace Primary School


Trustees are both Charity Trustees and Company Directors. Trustees are bound by both charity and company law.  The Board of trustees manages the business of the academy trust and may exercise all the powers of the academy trust.  The Board focuses on the three core functions of governance.

  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent



Term of Office/

Appointed By

Business and Pecuniary Interests

Sarah Armstrong-Taylor

Chair of Finance, Audit & Risk Committee

17/12/2019 - 16/12/2023 
Appointed by Trustees (Co-opted)

Tiffany Beck

Chair of Trustees

06/07/2020 - 05/07/2024 

Appointed by Members

Employed by PLMR as Communications, PR and Public Affairs


Ambition Institute, Education  Charity - Consults on 0-2 trust  diagnostic reviews per year

Tom Campbell

22/09/2020 - 21/09/2024

Appointed by trustees


Employed by Greenwood Academies Trust


Non-executive Director of SDPA

(non-profit school improvement agency)

David Cockcroft 

16/10/2018 -  15/10/2022

Appointed by trustees


Owner of Blackrose Equity Management

Tom Gilliford

06/07/2020 - 05/07/2024

Appointed by Members


Astrid Korin

Chair of Standards and Achievement Committee

06/07/2020 -  05/07/2024

Appointed by Members

Employed by Education  Development

Trust as Head of Consultancy Delivery

Louise Obi-Drake

Vice Chair

08/04/2020 - 07/04/2024

Appointed by Trustees


Employed by Clore Social Leadership (Charity)

Consultant for The Anne Frank Trust (Charity)

Nick Osborne

CEO and

Accounting Officer


Ex-officio by virtue

of office (CEO)

Governor of Hurstmere Schools

Wife is employee at Ebbsfleet

Green Primary School

Trustees who have served within the last 12 months
Name Appointed by Term of Office Business and Pecuniary Interests 
Martin Myers Vice Chair of Trustees 06/07/2020 - resigned on 02/03/2021 Employed by Department for Education
David Valentine

Appointed by Trustees


09/02/2021 - resigned on 03/04/2021

Chair of Trustees at Barnsole Primary Trust

Chair of Transition Board for Barnsole Primary School

Click here to find out more about our individual Members and Trustees.

Contact Us

Chair of Trustees, Tiffany Beck at

Clerk and Company Secretary, Rachelle Stevens at